2017 Call for Award Nominations - Deadline Extended to March 31

The Extended Deadline for Award Nominations is
Friday, March 31, 2017, 5:00 PM ET


Awards will be presented at the 2017 SMDM Annual Meeting in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Please view the guidelines below for submitting nominees for each award.

Career Achievement Award

The Career Achievement Award recognizes a senior investigator who has made significant contributions to the field of medical decision making. The nominee need not be a member of SMDM. 
The Awards Committee offers the following questions to stimulate your thinking about worthy nominees:

1. In your area of work, whose publications are most often referred to?
2. In your work, what analytic tools do you use daily that may have been introduced by an individual in medical decision making?
3. In your institution, whose names are most often mentioned when people talk about ideas in medical decision making?  
4. In your institution, when you hear others talking about medical decision making ideas, but they don’t mention individual names, whom do you recognize as the originator of those ideas?
5. In your classes, whose work do you assign the students to read?
6. In your own research or teaching, whose work do you frequently cite or refer to?

Previous recipients of the Career Achievement Award:  Stephen G. Pauker, MD; Milton C. Weinstein, PhD; Arthur S. Elstein, PhD; Harold C. Sox, MD; Dennis Fryback, PhD; John M. Eisenberg, MD; George Torrance, PhD; Daniel Kahneman, PhD; Jerome P. Kassirer, MD; Joseph S. Pliskin, PhD; Allan Detsky, MD, PhD; David J. Spiegelhalter, PhD; Peter P. Wakker, PhD; Barbara J. McNeil, MD, PhD; Alan Garber, MD, PhD; J. Sanford (Sandy) Schwartz, MD; Howard Raiffa, PhD; Annette O’Connor, RN, PhD, FCAHS; Donald Redelmeier, MD, MSHSR, FRCPC, FACP; Mark Roberts, MD, MPP; Alvin I. Mushlin, MD, ScM; Ivar S. Kristiansen, MD, MPH, PhD

Eugene L. Saenger Award for Distinguished Service to SMDM

This award recognizes service to SMDM in terms of leadership, role in the operations of the Society, and contributions to the scientific and educational activities of the Society. The nominee must be a member of SMDM.
Questions to stimulate your thinking about worthy nominees:

1. Who comes to mind as a person to call on for help if you need to get something accomplished in SMDM?
2. Who do you hesitate to call on because you think they already are doing so much for the society?
3. Who calls on you to serve SMDM?
4. Whom would you feel you could not say “no” to if they called on you to serve?

Previous recipients of this award:  Lee B. Lusted, MD; Stephen G. Pauker, MD; Dennis Fryback, PhD; J. Robert Beck, MD; Robert Wigton, MD; Robert Centor, MD; Milton Weinstein, PhD; John Clarke, MD; Michael J. Barry, MD; Margaret Holmes-Rovner, PhD; David Rovner, MD; Sankey Williams, MD; Roy Poses, MD; Arthur Elstein, PhD; Frank A. Sonnenberg, MD; John C. Hershey, PhD; Joel Tsevat, MD, MPH; Bruce E. Hillner, MD; M.G. Myriam Hunink, MD, PhD; Kathryn McDonald, MM; Michael Kattan, PhD; John B. Wong, MD; Mark Helfand, MD, MPH; David Sugano, PhD; Scott B. Cantor, PhD; Mark Eckman, MD; Karen Kuntz, ScD; Anne Stiggelbout, PhD; Marilyn M. Schapira, MD, MPH

John M. Eisenberg Award for Practical Application of Medical Decision Making Research

This award recognizes sustained leadership in translating medical decision making research into practice, including taking exceptional steps to communicate the principles and/or substantive findings of medical decision making research to policy makers, or clinical decision makers, or the general public. The nominee need not be a member of SMDM.
Question:  In your work or practice, when you come across a good idea, embodying solid medical decision making principles, who has worked to bring that idea into practice?

Previous recipients of this award:  Donald Berwick, MD; Harvey V. Fineberg, MD, PhD; Annette O’Connor, RN, PhD; Hilary Llewellyn-Thomas, RN, PhD; Jeffrey P. Koplan, MD, MPH; John M. Wennberg, MD, MPH; Harold C. Sox, MD; Foundation for Informed Medical Decision Making; Sue Goldie, MD, MPH; Douglas Owens, MD, MS; Michael Drummond, PhD; Michael Kattan, PhD; J. Sanford (Sandy) Schwartz, MD; Alan Schwartz, PhD; Ewout W. Steyerberg, PhD

Outstanding Paper by a Young Investigator

This award was conceived as a means of recognizing outstanding work by a young researcher and assisting the recipient in the tenure process. The award is for a paper published, online or in print, in the calendar year prior to the award (journal must be published in 2016 for the 2017 award). The nominee must be in the first six (6) years of full-time employment after the end of “training” however that is defined within the country and field of the nominee. Any dispute about the eligibility of a nominee will be resolved by the committee.

• The nominee must be the first author of the paper.
• The nominator must be a member of SMDM.
• The paper nominated must appear in a peer reviewed journal with a publication date of 2016. Online journals qualify, provided they are peer-reviewed.
• Papers will be judged for their importance and originality.
• The nominations must include a copy of the article preferably in pdf format, including complete journal citation. A letter of support explaining the importance of the paper is recommended.

Questions to stimulate thinking about worthy nominees:

1. In the past year, what paper did you notice with surprise and pleasure, as being an impressive contribution from one so young?
2. Does this paper make you think, “This person has promise”?


Member Stories

Hilton Lam, MHA, PhD
Hilton Lam, MHA, PhD

Ever since I was a PhD student, I found SMDM articles to be of high quality, balanced scientific treatment, and technically accessible.

 continue »

MDM Journal

MDM Journal

MDM offers rigorous and systematic approaches to decision making that are designed to improve the health and clinical care of individuals and to assist with health policy development.

Learn More >