Core Course Certificate Program

SMDM offers a Certificate of Completion to individuals who complete the SMDM Core Courses. The SMDM curriculum is a new initiative of the Society with the goal of having a set of introductory-level Core Courses in foundational aspects of medical decision making. This effort serves the core mission of the Society to educate its members in key content areas. Core Courses are offered at SMDM meetings and conferences in North America and Europe.

Interested in more advanced courses? SMDM offers a full lineup of Short Courses offered at each meeting in North America and Europe.

 Summer 2021 Core Course Schedule:

Course

Course Date & Time

Course Faculty

Introduction to Shared Decision Making and Patient Decision

13 July 2021

 10 AM – 1 PM EDT

2 PM – 5 PM UTC

4 PM – 7 PM CET

7 AM - 10 AM PDT

Ellen Lipstein MD, MPH and Victoria Shaffer, PhD

Introduction to Medical Decision Analysis (Decision-Analytic Modeling)

22 July 2021

10 AM – 1 PM EDT

2 PM – 5 PM UTC

4 PM – 7 PM CET

7 AM - 10 AM PDT

Beate Jahn, PhD and Uwe Siebert, MD, MPH, MSc, ScD

Introduction to the Psychology of Medical Decision Making

10 August 2021

 10 AM – 1 PM EDT

2 PM – 5 PM UTC

4 PM – 7 PM CET

7 AM - 10 AM PDT

KD Valentine, PhD and Pete Wegier, PhD

Introduction to Cost-Effectiveness Analysis

18 August 2021

10 AM – 1 PM EDT

2 PM – 5 PM UTC

4 PM – 7 PM CET

7 AM - 10 AM PDT

Jeffrey Hoch, PhD

 

Core Course Certificate Program Costs:

Registration Criteria

Cost per Course

Non Members

USD 250

Members

USD 100

Trainee & LMIC Members

USD 75


Take 4 courses and get 1 free – and receive your certificate of completion!

 

 

Please email info@SMDM.org with any questions.
 


Become a Member

SMDM members contribute critically to health policy research in the areas of evidence-based medicine, cost effective health care, patient decision making and public health. SMDM helps you to be more than just a face in the crowd. The connections you make through SMDM can help you build a network of long-term contacts to help you throughout your career.

Learn More about Membership


Member Stories

Xiongfei Pan, BSc
Xiongfei Pan, BSc

"The most benefits I get from the membership are getting informed of up-to-date information on health decision making as well as resources and tools for professionals in this area."

 continue »

MDM Journal

MDM Journal

MDM offers rigorous and systematic approaches to decision making that are designed to improve the health and clinical care of individuals and to assist with health policy development.

Learn More >