2021 Short Courses

SMDM is thrilled to offer Short Courses in September, October, and November in conjunction with the 43rd Annual Meeting. This flexible and extended new schedule will allow people to take more short courses over a longer period of time and minimize the amount of consecutive screen time when the meeting takes place in October. 

To sign up for a short course please click the “Register Now” button and select the SMDM 43rd Annual Meeting. Once you have logged in as a member or created an account, you will select the last option – Short Course Only. You are not required to sign up for the Annual Meeting, but we do hope you will consider attending as you will receive a discount on the short courses.

If you have already registered for the Annual Meeting and would like to add a short course, please go to the online store and select "My Event." From there you will be able to add a short course to your existing registration. 

 



Short Courses Offered: 

September 28: An Introduction to Structural Equation Modeling for Medical Decision Making Research 

7-10 AM PDT | 10 AM-1 PM EDT | 2-5 PM UTC | 4-7 PM CEST
Instructors:  Kristen Berg; Adam Carle; Doug Gunzler; Adam Persynski

September 30: Causal Inference and Causal Diagrams in Medical Decision Making Using Big Real World Observational Data and Pragmatic Trials
7-10 AM PDT | 10 AM-1 PM EDT | 2-5 PM UTC | 4-7 PM CEST
Instructors:  Doug Faries; Felicitas Kuehne; Uwe Siebert

October 5: Cohort Modeling in R
7-10 AM PDT | 10 AM-1 PM EDT | 2-5 PM UTC | 4-7 PM CEST
Instructors: Fernando Alarid-Escudero; Eline Krijkamp; Petros Pechlivanoglou; Alan Yang

October 6: Applied Cost-Effectiveness Modeling with R
7-10 AM PDT | 10 AM-1 PM EDT | 2-5 PM UTC | 4-7 PM CEST
Instructors: Devin Incenti; Jeroen Jansen

October 7: Advances in Health Outcomes Measurement: Promis and Propr
7-10 AM PDT | 10 AM-1 PM EDT | 2-5 PM UTC | 4-7 PM CEST
Instructors: Amy Cizik; Janel Hanmer; Nan Rothrock

October 11: Metamodeling for Simulation-Based Optimization of Strategies in Healthcare
7-10 AM PDT | 10 AM-1 PM EDT | 2-5 PM UTC | 4-7 PM CEST
Instructors: Koen Degeling; Erik Koffijberg

October 12: Innovation in Shared Decision-Making: Agile Approaches to (Post-) Pandemic Challenges
7-10 AM PDT | 10 AM-1 PM EDT | 2-5 PM UTC | 4-7 PM CEST
Instructors: Amalia Issa; Peter Nugus; Dan Poenaru

October 13: Quantifying and Valuing Inequality Impacts in Economic Evaluation
7-10 AM PDT | 10 AM-1 PM EDT | 2-5 PM UTC | 4-7 PM CEST
Instructors: Susan Griffin; Fan Yang

October 14: Methods for Measuring Patient Preference Information
7-10 AM PDT | 10 AM-1 PM EDT | 2-5 PM UTC | 4-7 PM CEST
Instructors: John Bridges; Norah Crossnohere; A. Brett Hauber; Ellen Janssen

October 26: Introduction to Systematic Review and Meta Analysis
7-10 AM PDT | 10 AM-1 PM EDT | 2-5 PM UTC | 4-7 PM CEST
Instructors: Lisa Hess; additional instructors to be confirmed

October 27: Stakeholder Engagement: 90% Preparation, 10% Perspiration
7-10 AM PDT | 10 AM-1 PM EDT | 2-5 PM UTC | 4-7 PM CEST
Instructors: Natalie E. Leland; Jenny Martínez; Daniel Pinto

October 28: Survival Analysis: Why? What? How?
7-10 AM PDT | 10 AM-1 PM EDT | 2-5 PM UTC | 4-7 PM CEST
Instructors: Elisabeth Fenwick; Sven Klijn; Nick Latimer

November 2: Cost-effectiveness Analysis with Probabilistic Graphical Models
7-10 AM PDT | 10 AM-1 PM EDT | 2-5 PM UTC | 3-6 PM CET
Instructors: Manuel Arias Calleja; Francisco Javier Díez; Manuel Luque; Jorge Pérez Martín

November 3: Microsimulation Modeling in R
7-10 AM PDT | 10 AM-1 PM EDT | 2-5 PM UTC | 3-6 PM CET
Instructors: Fernando Alarid-Escudero; Eline Krijkamp; Petros Pechlivanoglou; Alan Yang

November 9: Hands on Model Calibration in R
7-10 AM PST | 10 AM-1 PM EST | 3-6 PM UTC | 4-7 PM CET
Instructors: Eva Enns; additional instructors to be confirmed

November 10: Modelling with DICE 2.0
7-10 AM PST | 10 AM-1 PM EST | 3-6 PM UTC | 4-7 PM CET
Instructors: J. Jaime Caro; Jorgen Moeller

November 16: Discrete Event Simulation in R to Support Healthcare Decision Making
7-10 AM PST | 10 AM-1 PM EST | 3-6 PM UTC | 4-7 PM CET
Instructors: Koen Degeling; Erik Koffijberg

November 17: Research Prioritization One: An Introduction to Research Prioritization and Study Design Using Value of Information Analysis (Part 1 of 2)
7-10 AM PST | 10 AM-1 PM EST | 3-6 PM UTC | 4-7 PM CET
Instructors: Jeremy Goldhaber-Fiebert; Anna Heath; Hawre Jalal; Natalia Kunst

November 18: Research Prioritization Two: Advanced Computation of Value of Information Measure to Determine Optimal Research Design (Part 2 of 2)*
7-10 AM PST | 10 AM-1 PM EST | 3-6 PM UTC | 4-7 PM CET
Instructors: Jeremy Goldhaber-Fiebert; Anna Heath; Hawre Jalal; Natalia Kunst

*Attendance at Research Prioritization One is not a requirement to attend this course

Short Course Registration: 

Regular and Emeritus Members: USD 100
LMIC/Trainee/Patient Members: USD 75
Non Member: USD 250

 



Note: Members who register for the 2021 Annual Meeting receive a special 20% discount on their short course registration fees!

Share




MDM Journal

MDM Journal

MDM offers rigorous and systematic approaches to decision making that are designed to improve the health and clinical care of individuals and to assist with health policy development.

Learn More >