POSTPONED TO 2022: 18th Biennial European Conference

Linking Research to Evidence-Based Action for Patients, Providers and Policy Decision Makers

June 14 - June 16, 2020

Berlin, Germany


Langenbeck Virchow Haus
Luisenstraße 58/59 

10117 Berlin, Germany

SMDM has cancelled the 18th Biennial European Conference which was set to take place in Berlin, Germany, June 14 - June 16, 2020. The 18th Biennial European Conference has been rescheduled for June 06 - June 08, 2021. Please direct any questions to

The SMDM Executive Committee reached this decision, after careful deliberation and discussions due to the evolving situation regarding the coronavirus (COVID-19) and restrictions on non-essential travel implemented by many of SMDM’s member organizations that impact the ability of our speakers, sponsors and other attendees to participate in the event. The current situation in Berlin is evolving, but as of today, immediate cancellation of all conferences, meetings and events through July 20, 2020 has been recommended.

We realize that preparation and anticipation of the 18th Biennial European Conference was on track for a successful event; however, we made this decision to safeguard the health and wellbeing of our members, as well as the broader community. 

The SMDM European Conference will bring together high-quality oral and poster presentations, short courses, and issue panels from all disciplines involved in the study of decision making in health and medicine, including evidence-based medicine and public health, patient & stakeholder preferences and engagement, psychology, cognition science, shared decision making, decision modeling, outcomes research, epidemiology, health economics, health care management, policy research, health technology assessment, health informatics, health ethics and law, and others.

Conference Co-Chairs: Beate Jahn, PhD (Austria), Silke Siebert, MD (Austria), Tobias Kurth, MD, MSc, ScD (Germany), and Uwe Siebert, MD, MPH, MSc, ScD (Austria)

Scientific Review Co-Chairs: Hilary Bekker, PhD (United Kingdom) and Felicitas Kühne, MSc (Austria)

Scientific Review Committee: Jef van den Ende, MD, PhD (Belgium), Liz Fenwick, PhD (United Kingdom), Dan Greenberg, PhD (Israel), László Gulácsi, MD, MSc, PhD (Hungary), Peder Halvorsen, MD, PhD (Norway), Evi Hatziandreou, PhD (Greece), Lisa Hess, PhD (United States), Myriam Hunink, MD, PhD (The Netherlands), Jesse Jansen, PhD (The Netherlands), Kathryn McDonald, PhD, MM (United States), Javier Mar Medina, MD, PhD (Spain), Beate Sander, PhD (Canada), Marieke de Vries, PhD (The Netherlands)

Lee B. Lusted Award Co-Chairs: Torbjørn Wisløff, PhD​ (Norway)​ and Janine van Til, PhD (The Netherlands)

Short Course Co-Chairs: Gaby Sroczynski, MPH, Dr. PH (Austria) and Elske van den Akker-van Marle, PhD (The Netherlands)

Mentoring Co-Chairs: Ivar Sønbø Kristiansen, MD, MPH, PhD (Norway) and Olga Kostopoulou, PhD (United Kingdom) 

Social Media Co-Chairs: Davene Wright, PhD (United States) and Sibylle Puntscher, PhD (Austria)


MDM Journal

MDM Journal

MDM offers rigorous and systematic approaches to decision making that are designed to improve the health and clinical care of individuals and to assist with health policy development.

Learn More