SMDM Core Short Course Certificate Program 2024

SMDM offers a Certificate of Completion to individuals who complete all four of the SMDM Core Courses. The SMDM Core Course Curriculum is an initiative of the Society to provide introductory-level Core Courses in foundational aspects of medical decision making, resulting in a Certificate of Completion provided to those who complete the Core Course Curriculum.  Four Core Courses complete the curriculum and will be offered in April 2024 as indicated below.  Those completing the 4 Core Courses should request their certificate directly from Info@SMDM.org, and there is no fee to receive your certificate when earned.  If you have already taken one or more of the Core Courses, complete the series and get your certificate this year.  The Core Course program will be not be offered again until September, 2025, so register today!

Course 1 of 4
Introduction to Cost-Effectiveness Analysis

Instructor: Jeffrey Hoch, PhD (USA)
3 April 2024
08.00 PDT/11.00 EDT/15.00 UTC/17.00 CEST
Learn More

Course 2 of 4
Introduction to the Psychology of Medical Decision Making

Instructor: Kathrene (KD) Valentine, PhD (USA) & Pete Wegier, PhD (Canada)
10 April 2024
08.00 PDT/11.00 EDT/15.00 UTC/17.00 CEST
Learn More

Course 3 of 4
Introduction to Shared Decision Making and Patient Decision Aids

Instructors: Ellen Lipstein, MD, MPH (USA) & Victoria Shaffer, PhD (USA)
17 April 2024
08.00 PDT/11.00 EDT/15.00 UTC/17.00 CEST
Learn More

Course 4 of 4
Introduction to Medical Decision Analysis (Decision-Analytic Modeling)

Instructors: Beate Jahn, PhD (Austria) & Uwe Siebert, MD, MPH, MSc, ScD (Austria)
24 April 2024
08.00 PDT/11.00 EDT/15.00 UTC/17.00 CEST
Learn More

 

 

 

The 2025 Core Course Certification Program will be held in September/October 2025.


Share


Member Stories

Newell McElwee, PharmD, MSPH
Newell McElwee, PharmD, MSPH

"SMDM is the professional home to what I consider the top scientists in the field and the scientific meetings always inspire me.   I also consider SMDM membership an indicator of exposure to rigorous methods and cutting edge science when reviewing resumes."

 continue »

MDM Journal

MDM Journal

MDM offers rigorous and systematic approaches to decision making that are designed to improve the health and clinical care of individuals and to assist with health policy development.

Learn More >