Board of Trustees

Officers, Trustees, and Staff
History of Board and Trustees


Natasha Stout, PhD

President (2020 - 2021)
Assistant Professor in Population Medicine
Harvard Medical School, Harvard Pilgrim Health Care Institute, USA

Olga Kostopoulou, PhD

President-Elect (2020 - 2021)
Imperial College, London, UK

Lisa Prosser, PhD

Past President (2020 - 2021)
Professor, Pediatrics & Health Management; Policy Assistant Dean for Research Faculty, Medical School
University of Michigan, USA

Beate Jahn, PhD

Vice President (2020 - 2021)
Senior Scientist and Head of Program of Personalized Medicine
University for Health Sciences, Medical Informatics and Technology, Austria

Marieke de Vries, PhD

Vice President-Elect (2020 - 2021)
Radboud University, The Netherlands

Ava John-Baptiste, PhD

Secretary-Treasurer (2019 - 2021)
Assistant Professor
Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry, Western University, Canada

Jeremy Goldhaber-Fiebert, PhD

Secretary-Treasurer Elect (2020 - 2021)
Stanford School of Medicine, California, USA

J. Robert Beck, MD

Historian (2019 - 2024)
Deputy Director, Chief Academic and Administrative Officer
Fox Chase Cancer Center, USA


Fernando Alarid-Escudero, PhD

Trustee (2018 - 2021)
Assistant Professor
Drug Policy Program, Center for Research and Teaching in Economics (CIDE) - CONACyT, Mexico

Esther de Bekker-Grob, PhD

Trustee (2018 - 2021)
Erasmus University - Rotterdam, The Netherlands

Negin Hajizadeh, MD, MPH

Trustee (2020 - 2023)
Donald and Barbara Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra University, New York, USA

Jesse Jansen, PhD

Trustee (2019 - 2022)
Associate Professor
Maastricht University, The Netherlands

Tara Lavelle, PhD

Trustee (2020 - 2023)
Tufts Medical Center, Massachusetts, USA

Hester Lingsma, PhD

Trustee (2020 - 2023)
Erasmus Medical College, The Netherlands

Ankur Pandya, PhD

Trustee (2019 - 2022)
Assistant Professor of Health Decision Science
Harvard School of Public Health, USA

Victoria Shaffer, PhD

Trustee (2018 - 2021)
Associate Professor
University of Missouri, USA

Davene Wright, PhD

Trustee (2019 - 2022)
Assistant Professor
Harvard Pilgrim Health Care Institute, USA

Editorial Office

Alan Schwartz, PhD

Editor in Chief, Medical Decision Making and Medical Decision Making Policy & Practice
Associate Professor, Clinical Decision Making; Director of Research
University of Illinois, Chicago, USA

Rebecca J. Fiala

Editorial Manager, Medical Decision Making
University of Illinois, Chicago, USA

Ellen G. Engelhardt, PhD

Editor in Chief, SMDM e-newsletter
Postdoctoral Researcher, Division of Psychosocial Research and Epidemiology and Division of Molecular Pathology
Netherlands Cancer Institute, The Netherlands

Aisha Langford, PhD

Deputy Editor, SMDM e-newsletter
Assistant Professor of Population Health Division of Comparative Effectiveness and Decision Science
New York University Grossman School of Medicine, USA


Diane Nickolson

Executive Director
Society for Medical Decision Making, USA

Teresa Belmont

Association Manager
Society for Medical Decision Making

Damien Salamacha

Marketing and Communications Coordinator
Society for Medical Decision Making

Cara Pestorius

Senior Meeting Planner
Society for Medical Decision Making

Member Stories

Eric Nsiah-Boateng, MPH, MSc
Eric Nsiah-Boateng, MPH, MSc

"Attending SMDM Meetings has sharpened my research and presentation skills."

 continue »

MDM Journal

MDM Journal

MDM offers rigorous and systematic approaches to decision making that are designed to improve the health and clinical care of individuals and to assist with health policy development.

Learn More >